Southeast Asia (or Southeastern Asia)

Southeast Asia (or Southeastern Asia) is a subregion of Asia, consisting of the countries that are geographically south of China, east of India and north of Australia. The region lies on the intersection of geological plates, with heavy seismic and volcanic activity.

File:Location Southeast Asia.svg

Southeast Asia consists of two geographic regions: the Asian mainland, and island arcs andarchipelagoes to the east and southeast. The mainland section consists of Burma (Myanmar),CambodiaLaosThailandVietnam and Peninsular Malaysia while the maritime section consists of BruneiEast MalaysiaEast TimorIndonesiaPapua New Guinea, the Philippines, andSingapore.[1]

Austronesian peoples predominate in this region. The major religions are Islam and Buddhism, followed by Christianity. However a wide variety of religions are found throughout the region, including many Hindu and animist-influenced practices.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: